Unictr - International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda
Challenging Impunity
International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda
You are here: News » News Detail  
Back |
Jun 3, 1997

The fourth Plenary Session of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda opened on Monday, 2 June 1997, at the headquarters of the Tribunal in Arusha, United Republic of Tanzania.

The opening was chaired by Judge Laïty Kama, President of the Tribunal. The Plenary Session began with the swearing in of two new Judges of the Appeals Chamber, namely Judges Gabrielle Kirk McDonald and Lal Chand Vohrah. The new Judges took the oath before the six Judges of the two Trial Chambers, Judge Antonio Cassese, President of the ICTY and of the Appeals Chamber for the two Tribunals, ICTR and ICTY, and the other Judges of the Appeals Chamber, the Registrar of the Tribunal, representing the United Nations Secretary-General, the Prosecutor and Deputy Prosecutor of the Tribunal.

The election of the President and Vice-President of the International Tribunal took place this morning, Tuesday, 3 June 1997. President Kama and Vice-President Ostrovsky were re-elected for a second two-year term. The Plenary Session will continue until Friday, 6 June 1997, and will adopt the amendments to the Rules of Procedure and Evidence, the proposed amendments to the Directive on the Assignment of Defence Counsel, as well as the Annual Report. The date of the next session will be determined before the close of the ongoing discussions.

The previous plenary session of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda was held in The Hague from 1 to 5 July 1996.